I feel she’s loaned to me. We’re veiled in flesh. That’s all.

February 5, 2010

I don’t have time this week for anything other than a brief post collecting some random moments.

When Andrew Bird tells me not to worry about the atmosphere, it eases my heart in so many other ways.

Last night I stood in a dark, dripping room and found myself grinning ear to ear.  It was like some sort of time slip.  Silence, just off a busy street.  So exhilerating.

I took a break this week from the 800+ page novels I have been trying to read over the summer in order to dip into something comforting: In the Skin of a Lion by Michael Ondaatje.  I am in love with giant engineering feats at the moment, and beautiful prose.  I just want to disappear into the deep snow of upper america and the streets of Toronto for a little while.

Fresh raspberries.  Figs.  Plums.  Homemade Baba Ganoush.  Beetroot with leeks in cream sauce.  This week has been a good food week.  I want to eat like this all the time.  Just fresh, slow food.  Or sometimes just fresh, instant food.  Did you know there’s a vulgar way to eat a fig?

3 Responses to “I feel she’s loaned to me. We’re veiled in flesh. That’s all.”

  1. Niki Says:

    Good food weeks are the best kind of weeks to have! I’m intrigued by your beetroot with leeks in cream sauce! Recipe post? ;)

  2. Jenn Says:

    I have so many recipes to share. I have been obsessed with cooking lately. I think it’s the going home and eating you mother’s cooking and then getting all nostalgic and trying to recreate it thing.

    My sister is a big influence, too. Claire’s recipes are going to feature here shortly… nutty golden homemade muesli, the simplest chewiest chocolate fudge sauce in the world. I will explore this leeks and beetroot thing in more detail, too (god, that was a good combo) and offer up my awesome iced chai recipe.

    Soon!

  3. Niki Says:

    I’m eagerly awaiting your upcoming posts!!!! :)


Leave a Reply

