easy grains

February 18, 2010

I’m trying to be kind to myself at the moment.   I’m busy, despite my best intentions, and am slowly realising that I really need to learn to take my time over those small, everyday things… instead of rushing around all the time.  Old, bad habits die hard.

My sister Claire has made this muesli for years.  And I have started making it recently, too.  I know that some people sit and drink a cup of tea in the morning and take their time over breakfast, but it has never been something that I’ve been good at.  But I am trying!

Caramel Muesli (for want of a better name)

Mix in a big, microwaveable bowl…

3 cups rolled oats
½ cup rolled barley
½ cup pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
½ cup chopped nuts (almonds, cashew nuts and hazelnuts are all good!)
¼ cup sunflower seeds
¼ cup wheatgerm
¼ cup oatbran

In a smaller microwaveable bow, mix…

4 Tablespoons of runny honey
2 Tablespoons of oil
2 Tablespoons of brown sugar
and a little bit of salt, vanilla extract, cinnamon etc etc

Zap the liquid ingredients in the microwave for 1 minute until bubbly.  Then pour over the mixed dry ingredients and stir.

Microwave the muesli for 4 minutes. Stir.

Microwave for 1 minute intervals, stirring after each, until the muesli is golden (usually about 7-9 minutes in total).

As it cools it will firm up and go crunchy.  When you pour milk on it, it turns the milk to caramel.  Mmmmm.

(Did I mention all indredients are negotiable?  Try different grains and nuts… I’d be interested to hear your awesome combos!)

3 Responses to “easy grains”

  1. Niki Says:

    Nom nom nom nom nom!!!!! I’ll try this when I use up my current batch of muesli! Thanks!

  2. molly Says:

    Oh, seriously? Caramel muesli?? This needs trying, spit spot…

    • Jenn Says:

      I know, right? Let me know what combo of grains you use! I think it’s the wheatgerm, honey and brown sugar that meld with the milk to make such caramel-y goodness. I would be interested to try it with muscavado sugar, too!


Leave a Reply

