vegetables to my door

July 3, 2010

I signed up with an SCA style vegetable box scheme last week with food connect. I’m getting really sick of my erratic cooking patterns, and thought this might be a good way to get into a good routine while also eating lots of delicious things. I have been really craving vegetables lately, and am excited at the prospect of having a selection of seasonal, but otherwise potentially random vegetables delivered to me once a fortnight, and then being challenged to make delicious meals out of them.

So the next month or so will probably be an ode to vegetables. My blog is going to be rather foodie for a short while… but at least I’ll be updating!

In my first box on Monday I get chinese broccoli and beetroot. I love beetroot: in cream, in vinegar, in chocolate cake (!) … grated, roasted, or pureed. I love how red it makes your hands and fingers when you cut it and how versatile it is. But I have never made a beetroot soup or a beetroot rissotto. So I am looking forward to making one or the other this week, depending on how I feel.

It feels so good to be cooking a lot recently. I didn’t cook for a year, and now that I am back to a normal, healthy routine that makes me feel good and nourishes me, I’m finally starting to feel like myself again.

One Response to “vegetables to my door”

  1. Niki Says:

    Hoorah for lots of cooking! I can’t wait to hear what you create with your beetroot. I recently got some fennel and have never used it before, so perhaps we can both blog about a new creation! :)

    xoxo


Leave a Reply

