SCA okay

July 5, 2010

I just picked up my first vege box. On first look, the contents seemed a little disappointing. I was imagining masses and masses of produce, but it turns out that a small box really is only designed to feed one. The good thing about this is that it means that I can walk to the pickup spot from home (a very nice 20 minute walk, especially on a winter evening), pack everything into a backpack and walk home again. And even a small box presents its own challenges. Which is the point, right?

So what did I get in my box? 1 leek, 1 beetroot (sadly with the leaves cut off… I adore beetroot leaves), 5 giant cloves of elephant garlic, 2 cucumbers, 5 potatoes, 1 butternut pumpkin, a giant bunch of chinese broccoli, 2 oranges, 5 mandarins and 4 bananas.

The challenges for me are going to be the cucumbers and the chinese broccoli. I don’t normally eat cucumbers in salad in winter, and might try and do something else with them instead, like make a raita to have with curry, or cook them in butter. I’ve never cooked gai lan before, but it seems really easy and I love steamed greens.

I think I should be okay this week, and should manage to use everything up. But this entry about how to use up a vege box by a woman who is in the same scheme as me might come in handy for future weeks. I like that this is making me think about what I cook, and that it will hopefully have been eating better.

One Response to “SCA okay”

  1. Niki Says:

    Oh exciting! When I went to China I was amazed at how often they use cucumber in hot dishes, so perhaps you could try something similar? I recently got beetroot in my vege box too and they cut the leaves off :( hopefuuly my beetroot seedlings will kick off soon instead!


Leave a comment