ch-ch-ch-changes

September 13, 2010

So, a month ago I gave up my beautiful, sunny, upstairs room in an awesome Newtown sharehouse. It was nice living with caring people for a year, but I felt the increasing need for my own space and started hunting for a new home.



I looked at a couple of places, and became rather despondent rather quickly when faced with the lack of nice one bedroom places available at a reasonable price… but finally I found a place in nearby Dulwich Hill. I found the house on gumtree and am renting directly from the owner.

It was a pretty crazy move, because I was gearing up to write a conference paper and attend a conference in Melbourne at around the same time…. but I managed to move myself, Milla, and all my stuff. Well, most of my stuff. Dave helped me a lot, and I was incredibly greatful for all his assistance, practical advice and easy temperament. I couldn’t have asked for a better moving buddy.

And I am now the proud inhabitant of the ground floor of a wee little victorian terrace in Dulwich Hill (in Sydney’s inner west). Just me and my cat, (and often times Dave), and friends dropping by, and all my books and little projects. It’s so nice to be able to spread out! I have my own living room with a bay window and a fireplace, and a beautiful little bedroom that is just begging for nice bedlinen. My kitchen is lovely, and has a little skylight built into the old oven chimney – where my cat just sits in the sunshine and watches the sky go by.

Sorry for being too busy to blog about the move. I always find moving posts so interesting… it would have been fun to document all the excitement. I guess, instead, that I’ll have to settle for documenting getting the place all spruced up. There are curtains to make, and pillow cases. There are pictures to take down and new artworks to hang. There is much baking and cooking to be done, and I am very excited about being able to start a little kitchen garden out the back.

Herein lies the end of a very strange and uprooted time in my life. You can expect much nesting and general at-homery from me for the next little while.

<3

2 Responses to “ch-ch-ch-changes”

  1. Niki Says:

    Oh I can’t wait to hear about all your home making! Your new place sounds great.

    I must say, your photo of the kitty on your bed make me so sad! The Boy booted my cat out of the bedroom when I moved in with him – it still makes me sad!!!

    Anyway, enjoy creating your new space – I’ve very envious! Making a house a home is always amazing!

    x

  2. Jenn Says:

    Milla loves to come snuggle in bed in the morning, she lies on her back and purrs – it’s just lovely.

    Please come visit next time you are down in Sydney! It would be lovely to meet you :)


Leave a Reply

